Dydd Dewi Sant Hapus

I helped the kids make Saint David’s Day collages at the weekend, for them to take into school and show their teachers / classmates.  We should have taken them in this morning (obviously) but the weather forecast had predicted rain (and boy, was it right) so we took them in yesterday and everyone was very impressed with their art work and incredibly basic knowledge of the Welsh language.

Our six year old was pleased as punch revealing he was “half Welsh” to his teacher and she asked who out of us parents was from Wales, I think expecting it to be me, since I was the one who’d clearly encouraged the poster-making.  It made me think about culture and identity and how interesting it is that of the two of us, it’s usually me trying to promote that side of the boys’ identity and heritage to them.  We both use the odd Welsh phrase or word at home, and visit our family in Wales regularly, but when it comes to the other stuff- like the making collages and baking cakes for Saint David’s Day, those kind of things are driven by me.  I’ve been wondering why that is- sheer practicality and circumstance (i.e. me being around more to do those kinds of activities) or if it’s a personality, or even a male/female thing?

It’s hugely important to me that the boys are aware of their family history in a way that I can’t really explain very well and that took even me by surprise when I realised it, since I don’t think I’d ever really given it much thought prior to becoming a parent.

Regardless, I intend to continue baking (and eating) cakes on St David’s Day and buying daffodils, and saying “nos da” and hoping that it is enough.

Happy Saint David’s Day / Dydd Dewi Sant Hapus to all my readers 🙂

4 thoughts on “Dydd Dewi Sant Hapus

  1. Patrick 01/03/2016 / 4:25 pm

    I remember being offered a panad the first time I stayed with you guys!

    • rlholland 03/03/2016 / 10:09 am

      That’s true- we have always been a fan of the panad in this house 😀 but then, who isn’t?!

      As an aside- I noticed that your blog has disappeared?

      • rlholland 03/03/2016 / 10:11 am

        Oh hang on- it’s back?! It wasn’t there a couple of weeks ago though, I’m sure of it?! Anyway, hope things are good with you 🙂

      • Patrick 03/03/2016 / 11:02 am

        Yeah. It was causing me to focus too much on the negative side of things rather than the positive. Given that there’s been a fair few negatives over the past six months it felt like a good idea to stop. I’ve been pondering trying to start again now I’m in a more positive place.

Any thoughts?

