It’s Been A While

Titled this blog post and immediately had Staind- It’s Been A While playing in my head.  Sometimes I wonder if my brain isn’t just comprised of 70% song lyrics and melodies from the late 90’s/early 2000’s.

Anyway, that maybe wasn’t my longest ever hiatus from blogging, but there’s still the odd bit of tumbleweed blowing through the place.  It’s not even that I haven’t had anything to say- more that I wasn’t sure it was what anyone would want to read.  Life has been kind of difficult and kind of crazy, and most of the difficulties and craziness have been fostering related, which makes it hard to share, partly because: confidentiality but also because it’s such a sensitive topic.  It’s not like letting off steam at the end of a rough day at the office, these are other people’s lives that we’re talking about, and our lives- all mixed together, and it’s kind of hard to extricate what is ok for me to talk about and what isn’t. Hence: silence.

If it makes you feel better, I haven’t even been writing in my diary, because I was getting fed-up with writing the same thing every day: “Today was hard, crying baby, social worker, blah blah” so I just stopped.  Which is admittedly problematic since writing is one of the very few forms of release/coping mechanisms that I have that actually works.

The good news (for me anyway) is that I channeled it instead into finishing off edits to the YA novel I’ve been working on since last year, and I think it’s finally…after 15 months and 5 drafts, ready to be read by people other than just me.  In fact, Chris is already about 14 chapters in- which is impressive considering I wasn’t sure our relationship would survive him reading beyond the first two or three (he’s such a harsh critic and I am so rubbish at handling criticism in any form!)  I’ve also had a fair few (actually, quite a lot) of volunteers for alpha and beta readers, so once he’s finished ripping it to shreds I’ll be sending it on to others for them to do the same (eek!)

I’m going to attempt to get back into the habit of blogging regularly, and not just when I am sufficiently outraged about something to go off on a massive rant, as was my temptation a couple of days ago (although I may still write about that topic because honestly, my blood pressure is rising even just thinking about it).  My aim is two blog posts a week, and for a mixture of reading/writing related posts and general ranty/life posts, so…stay tuned!

One thought on “It’s Been A While

Any thoughts?

