Camp NaNoWriMo April 2015

Camp-Participant-2015

After ‘winning’ CampNaNoWriMo in July last year and then losing/failing at actual NaNoWriMo in November I decided once again to take part this month.  Because if there’s one thing my life is lacking right now it’s PRESSURE AND DEMANDS ON MY TIME.

Har-de-har.

Seriously.  I have set my word count goal pretty low (30k, i.e. 1,000 words per day) and I am continuing with my current Work In Progress, which is the sequel to the book I finished writing back in September (and have been editing to death since).

It took me 5 months to write that one and already it has taken me 5 months to get to a measly 20,000 words on this one.  I have been so busy editing the first one it’s been hard to let go and just move on to the second one, and I have also been annoying the hell out of myself dithering over whether or not there is enough conflict in this plot line (there isn’t) and trying to find ways to add more (there aren’t any) instead of just admitting to myself that it doesn’t matter at this stage because even if it turns out to be the dullest book ever to dull, I still really want to write it so that I can move these characters on.

So that’s where I’m at and what I’m doing.  I fully expect it to all go out of the window entirely once foster baby actually arrives and Life Gets Crazy but in the meantime I’m going to give it my best shot and see what I hit.

If anyone else fancies giving it a go then check out the Camp NaNoWriMo site and if you do sign up then give me a shout as there’s still space in my cabin for a few more campers 🙂

Any thoughts?

