Writer’s Block

If you’ve never had it before then it pretty much goes like this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And so on.  I had it for the first time ever this month and it lasted about a fortnight, during which time I barely wrote a thing, and what little I did write I hated so much it made me want to put down my pen and never ever pick it up ever again. (Actually, it made me want to snap my pen into teeny tiny pieces and stab myself in the eyeballs with them so that I wouldn’t have to read back the utter crap I’d just written…but I appreciate that might just be me having a tendency towards to rage above all other emotions).

So I read a few things which said do this, do that, definitely do not do this, and whatever you do don’t even consider that.  The gist of it being, nobody knows what the fuck they’re talking about.  What works for one person, doesn’t for another, and at the end of the day writing is a creative process, there aren’t any instructions and there’s no way of knowing if you’re doing it right (or perhaps more likely, horribly horribly wrong).

I forced myself to at least sit with a notebook on my lap every single day during those two weeks.  If I hadn’t signed up to Camp NaNoWriMo at the start of this month, there’s no way I’d even have done that.  I’d have just tucked the story away (mentally and literally) and come back to it at some other (unknown) point when inspiration struck.  But because I had a word goal I slogged on, occasionally jotting down words but mostly doodling and distracting myself with Pinterest and watching my boyfriend play on his PS4 and the such like.  Then eventually I just thought “Know what?  Fuck this shit” and I skipped an entire scene in which I had no idea what was happening or what was supposed to be happening and picked up with the following scene and since then it’s been easy breezy again.

It did mean that there was no way I was going to meet my 40,000 word goal though, so when Camp NaNoWriMo e-mailed me reminding that I had until last Saturday to alter said goal, I logged in to my profile and slashed that mo-fo right in half.  And you know what?  I’m not even sure I’m going to make that if I’m honest!

Camp ends midnight on Thursday 31st, and as it stands I have just under 5,000 words to write before then.  I can and have written that many words in a day before now, but just because something is possible doesn’t mean it is probable, so we’ll see…

Any thoughts?

