NOT a Happy Camper

I am failing spectacularly at Camp NaNoWriMo.

I set myself a target of 40,000 words hoping to double my existing word count on my novel, but two weeks in I have found myself with writer’s block for the first time ever in my life.  There have been times in the past where I haven’t written regularly, or where I haven’t felt particularly inspired, but there has never been a time like this- when I love the story, when I know exactly what is supposed to happen next but as soon as I put pen to paper I hate every single word that I write and end up crossing it all through.  I am seriously doubting my abilities to make this work in a way that actually does the story justice.

Like, what if I am just shit?

That would really suck.

The Camp NaNo site allows me to up date my word count daily and then throws out a bunch of stats for me and based on my current performance it’s prediction is that I will reach my word count on…(drum roll please)…31st August! Ha! A whole month after Camp ends.  So I really need to either accept that it’s not happening, or push through this bullshit block and get on with it!

On a more positive note, I have now passed the 50,000 word mark, which feels like a pretty big achievement considering I started with zero words on 12th April.

So, if anyone has any suggestions on a cure for being completely unable to form sentences that don’t make me want to beat myself over the head with a chair then please do let me know!

Any thoughts?

