Camp NaNoWriMo

In less than a week I will be embarking on my first ever summer camp!  Yes, you heard me. I’m going to be spending the whole of July at a writer’s retreat, along with thousands of other aspiring novelists from around the globe…

…I am of course talking about Camp NaNoWriMo 🙂

camp nano badge

For those who haven’t heard, NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month in it’s long form, takes place every November 1st-30th and the idea is that you pledge to write 50,000 words in one month.  There’s a whole online community built around the event, and at the end of it all you can validate your word count to become a winner.

Camp NaNoWriMo is the spring/summer equivalent.  There was one in April and another is starting on the 1st July.  I already have a cabin with eight other campers (i.e. writers!) and as you can set your own personal word goal for camp I have set mine to 40,000, with my aim being to double my existing word count on the YA novel I’m writing.

Most people start NaNo and CampNaNo with a new project, so I’m classed as a ‘rebel’ (and there are a few of us!) since I’m not strictly starting afresh with a new idea.  But I am still aiming to write 40,000 entirely new words which is a pretty big deal in itself.  Admittedly I have written 20,000 words in a week before now, but when you consider that in July I will be primary carer for my boys (as usual!), doing a 10k charity run, for which I still need to finalise my fancy dress costume, and potentially job-hunting as well, 40,000 words then starts to seem like ummm…quite a lot actually.

I am optimistic though (a rarity for me, I know!) as I’ve been feeling pretty inspired recently (well, either that or I’m just hiding from reality in my own fictional universe…la la la la)  I’ll update here with how I’m getting on so stay tuned if you’d like to witness the creative process/ a nervous breakdown in action!

8 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Beth @plasticrosaries 26/06/2014 / 12:54 am

    Good luck! I think my time with Nano may be over – have had 4 Nano/CampNano attempts and just suck! One day 🙂

  2. rlholland 26/06/2014 / 2:25 pm

    Ah, that’s a shame! I wondered if maybe you were going to be doing it but then figured the last thing you probably feel like doing at the end of the day is MORE writing?! I have no idea yet if having a word count goal will spur me on or freak me out, but I’m hoping the former obviously 😉

    • Beth @plasticrosaries 26/06/2014 / 6:24 pm

      Definitely! You can set your own goal for Camp Nano anyway so wherever you end up you can be proud of it :)!
      I wish I could write what I wanted but all the work seems to have stalled everything – I’m mainly cross about it haha.

    • rlholland 01/07/2014 / 2:32 pm

      Thanks, have a feeling I’m going to need it! 😉

Any thoughts?

