Father’s Day & The Large Hadron Collider

Me: (excitedly)  “There’s going to be a thing!  A thing, a thing at MOSI…you know…the thing…the collider thing?  It’s going to be there tomorrow!”

Chris: “I am absolutely certain that the Large Hadron Collider will not be at MOSI tomorrow, on account of it being some 100 metres below the ground in Switzerland, not to mention rather large.”

Me: (deflated) “Oh…well…maybe just a part of it will be there then?  Or, like…just an exhibition about it?”

Chris: “That would make more sense.”

So that was me told.  It also meant I got an impromptu physics lesson before bed…and no, that isn’t a euphemism for something else.

I was sort of right though.  The Hadron Collider Exhibition is at MOSI until September.

So today, to celebrate Father’s Day, we went along to see it…

20140615_123850

And very exciting it was too.  Even the kids thought so.

Ok, ok…so they may have been slightly more interested in pressing the keys on pretend keyboards:

20140615_131233

and making calls on pretend telephones:

20140615_132438

but I reckon they make fairly convincing tiny scientists:

20140615_135211

Meanwhile I was left puzzling over the fact that despite never enjoying science in school I was now not only choosing to spend my free time reading white boards like this one, but was actually paying for the privilege 😉

20140615_131423

Seriously though, we had a good day.  I still don’t feel like I properly understand it, but I think that’s probably ok, since the people that do have spent more than 1 hour and 15 minutes studying it!

One thing’s certain…it sure is smaller than I expected 😉

20140615_131339

 

Happy Father’s Day to all the Dads/Dad’s-to-be/Substitute Dads out there, including my own (RIP) and of course the father of my sons, who is undoubtedly the best of them all 🙂

One thought on “Father’s Day & The Large Hadron Collider

Any thoughts?

